Samoa bans seven villages from foreign seasonal work schemes

The Samoa government has banned seven villages from taking part in the seasonal work schemes with New Zealand and Australia after recent incidents involving workers breaking the law.
The people from Tafuatai on Savai’i and Solosolo in Upolu face a four-year ban after some seasonal workers were alleged to have been involved in damaging company cars and a dormitory, theft and leaving employment without notice.
The villages of Letogo, Samusu, Sataoa, Fagae’e, and Toamua face a two year ban after workers from there were accused of rape, drunk and disorderly behavior, and also leaving the work place without notice.
Prime Minister, Tuila’epa Sailele Malielegaoi, has urged the councils of these seven villages to punish these individuals.
Our correspondent, Autagavaia Tipi Autagavaia, says the government has gone through with its promise recently to introduce tough new measures
He says there has been some opposition from the villages but he says the government has had enough.
“Of giving chances to people who are deported back because of breaking the law and also breaching the requirements of seasonal work overseas. And he said it clearly here and that is enough, is enough, and the government is now stepping in.”
Autagavaia says the government also believes it should be the only body to recruit workers for the schemes.


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Business Pacific


Sports News