APEC officials in PNG for energy meet

ABOUT 200 officials from 21 member countries of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation are here to meet and discuss issues of energy in the Asia Pacific region.

It is the 48th APEC energy working group which concludes today in Port Moresby and have started meeting since Tuesday this week at Gateway Hotel.

The energy working group is one of the many APEC meetings which will be held and PNG is becoming a major player already as it prepares to host the APEC summit in Port Moresby come 2018.

Representatives of these 21 countries are currently in Port Moresby and should return to their respective countries by the weekend.

The APEC membership includes PNG, Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, the Philippines, the Russian Federation, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, and the United States.

APEC energy ministers met in Beijing, China, on September 2 and issued the Beijing Declaration.

The leaders expressed their goals of doubling the share of renewables in the APEC energy mix, including in power generation by 2030, and agreed to develop a road map to achieve this goal.

They agreed to work on a range of critical energy issues in the region, including ensuring energy security, removing barriers to energy trade and investment, facilitating LNG trade, promoting new and renewable energy, energy efficiency, and smart communities, keeping up safe nuclear power development, and cooperating on clean fossil fuel.

The EWG has a large number of projects focused on a wide range of energy efficiency initiatives, one of which is the APEC low carbon model town projects in China, Thailand and Vietnam.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Business Pacific


Sports News